The world is ending and it’s my turn to make dinner

The world is ending tomorrow! Tell us about your last dinner — the food, your dining companions, the setting, the conversation.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us DINNER.

Do you know the kind of pressure I’m under right now? Let me clarify, the world is ending tomorrow and it is my turn to cook dinner. Do you know how unfair that is? I’d planned just to make something easy, like maybe some pre-prepared chicken with microwavable rice or macaroni cheese or even just sausage and chips. Now, I’ve got to make a special effort and everything will have to be fresh. And then, you know, I’ll spend a lot of time making something that I think you will like, like spicy Asian Salmon with noodle broth and a mango, bean-sprout and toasted cashew salad, but the kids won’t like it because it is spicy. By the time I sit down I’ll be tired because of all the work and you know that then I’ll get grumpy. You’ll be grumpy because you’ve already had a long day and you need adult company, but the kids have been waiting a long time for food and have been moaning for what seems like ages and you’ve not seen me because I’ve been busy making the dinner. No one enjoys it because we are all tired, the kids are hungry and my food goes cold while I make them something they can eat and it feels like a waste of precious time. You shout at me, I think it’s unfair you’ve shouted at me and then I shout at you, you say that it’s unfair I’m shouting at you and I say well you started it. You say I started it and it’s like we’ve both suddenly got different memories. Then look at all the washing up! Couldn’t the end of the world have happened today, let’s say just after lunch? But then, you look at me and I look at you. We look at the kids and even though they have started winding each other up we feel a deep connection. You cry, I cry, the kids fight a bit but  then realise something is different and go quiet. We try to be strong for them. We decide they can stay up later even though we also want time just the two of us. No pressure on sex tonight, I promise, I don’t want to end it on a fight because – oh god I love you. We chat with the children like nothing is wrong, tell stories and jokes. When Louie starts talking about what he wants to do in his life we both have to bite back a flood of anger and frustration, an endless sorrow. He doesn’t need to know what is going to happen, just that he and his sister Evelyn are amazing. When they start to get really tired we put them to bed. I’ve never felt so sad in my life, no one knows when the end is going to come, but they need to sleep, it’s for the best. We stay up together you and I. We’ve had our ups and downs but mostly it’s been incredible. I hate the term soul mate, you are my oldest and closest friend. I wish I’d just made beans on toast I say, we both laugh. We’ve been here before. Well not quite at the end of the world, but it has felt like it sometimes. That’s how things that cut so deep feel. Bottomless, everything rests and falls on these connections, love and mortality.

 

 

 

Blog

Daily Prompt: Eat, Drink, and Be Merry…

7 Comments Add yours

  1. awlscribe says:

    Did you make that spicy Asian salmon after all? Looks gooooood! :P~

  2. awlscribe says:

    I enjoyed your post btw.. makes a good read (the photo kinda distracted me at the end).

    1. Thanks awlscribe… I may move the image on your recommendation!

      1. awlscribe says:

        No don’t! It’s a nice and pretty touch (think I was just feeling a bit hungry) 🙂

Get involved in my writing and leave a comment...

