Greetings, Stranger

Daily Prompt: Greetings, Stranger

 

“What’s your name?”

“X”

“I’ve been looking for you”

“U?”

“Yes you”

You shuffle awkwardly in your trench coat, trying desperately not to knock your glass of milk over the floral pattern table cloth with its over-sized sleeves. Sometimes you feel the trench coat is in charge. You clear your throat and tense your eyes to look hard. Your nose whistles as you inhale.

“The last I saw U, well it wasn’t pretty. It was far from pretty, if you know what I mean.”

You move your eyebrows up and down, trying for Humphrey Bogart but settling for Groucho Marx.

“Are you threatening me?” Stranger asks.

“Do I look like I’m threatening you?” The trench coat folds it’s arms, the collar framing your set, diminutive jaw.

“Actually, no.”

The trench coat relents and and you relax, breathing out.

“Look the last time I saw U, she and I were heading out of town together. Do you know I?”

“I know, aye.” The stranger looks as perplexed as you feel.

There’s an awkward pause.

“You are Ecks aren’t you?” Stranger asks.

“Yes”, you sigh. This could take some time.

 

 

(Photo: Peter Burka, CC 2.0)
(Photo: Peter Burka, CC 2.0)

 

3 Comments Add yours

Get involved in my writing and leave a comment...

